JUN 01, 2022 9:00 AM PDT

The Art and Science of Hematology Morphology: Platelet Morphology

Sponsored by: Abbott
Speaker

Abstract
Date:  June 01, 2022
Time: 9:00am (California, USA), 12:00pm (New York, USA), 5:00pm (London, UK), 6:00pm (Frankfurt, Germany), 7:00pm (Istanbul, Turkey and Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)
 
The enumeration and analysis of blood cells with automated haematology analysers have significantly improved in recent years due to advances in cell detection technologies, which have reduced the manual differential rate. Despite these improvements, morphology remains a keystone of haematology, particularly with regard to red blood cells and platelets.
 
Join Dan as he presents his third HIT Series webinar on “The Art and Science of Haematology Morphology”, focusing on platelet morphology.  In this program, he will use microscopic images from www.Blood-Academy.com to interactively discuss several platelet morphology cases.
 
Learning Objectives
  • Observe a smear from normal blood – show platelet size and structure and the natural variations seen in healthy individuals
  • Review smears that show abnormal platelet morphology
  • Talk through platelet case studies, including platelet clumping and satellitism (both in vitro effects) and underestimated platelet counts due to large or giant platelets not being recognized
  • Discuss disease states affecting the size, number and functionality of platelets, such as May-Hegglin Anomaly and Bernard-Soulier Syndrome
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 

Show Resources
Show Resources
Connect with us