2021 EDC Virtual Safety Summit Series

Available OnDemand until September of 2022

Sharing Success and Expanding Implementation to Save Lives

Safety innovations have been a cornerstone of the Every Day Counts (EDC) program since 2011, resulting in their rapid deployment and institutionalization, and the 2021 EDC Safety Summit Series built on that momentum.

Featured EDC Initiatives

The summit series highlights seven safety initiatives, and shares how they can save lives. The series benefits those who are just beginning to implement these innovations, those who are further along and could gain from peer-to-peer engagement, and those with deployment stories to share. It included opportunities to discuss hot topics with peers and establish relationships that can boost success now and in the future.

Each day of the series kicked off with FHWA leadership perspectives with opportunities for questions and answers, followed by interactive State and local presentations and topic-based breakout sessions, as well as a local innovation safety showcase.

  • Darcy Ackers

    Senior Transportation Engineer, City of Bellevue
  • Patrick Adams

    Active Transportation Planner, MaineDOT
  • John Bolecek

    Statewide Bicycle and Pedestrian Planner, Virginia DOT
  • Jenna Bowman

    Systems Management Administrator, Florida DOT
  • Dongho Chang

    Traffic Engineer, City of Seattle (Washington)
  • Mark Cole

    State Traffic Safety Engineer, Virginia DOT
  • Becky Crowe

    Transportation Safety Specialist, FHWA Office of Safety
  • Eric DeVoe

    Senior Researcher and Data Wrangler, Minnesota DOT
  • Mark Doctor

    Transportation Safety Engineer, FHWA Resource Center Safety & Design Team
  • Peter Eun

    Transportation Safety Engineer, FHWA Resource Center Safety & Design Team
  • Thomas D. Everett

    FHWA Associate Administrator
  • Girma Feyissa

    Principal Engineer - State Aid Programs, Minnesota DOT
  • Stephanie Garcia

    Complete Streets Manager, Broward MPO (Florida)
  • Dana Gigliotti

    Director, FHWA Office of Safety Programs
  • Michael Griffith

    Director, FHWA Office of Safety Technologies
  • Todd Grugel

    ADA Program Engineer, Minnesota DOT
  • Ryan Hale

    District Traffic Engineer, Missouri DOT Kansas City
  • Sam Harris

    Assistant State Traffic Engineer, Georgia DOT
  • Pat Hasson

    Manager, Resource Center Safety and Design Team
  • Jennifer Inzana

    Highway Safety Data Engineer, Massachusetts DOT
  • Kirsten Johnson

    Highway Safety GIS Specialist, Massachusetts DOT
  • Jon Kaplan

    Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator
  • Todd Kinney

    County Engineer, Clinton County (Iowa)
  • Derek Leuer

    State Traffic Safety Engineer, Minnesota DOT
  • Victor Lund

    Traffic Engineer, St. Louis County (Minnesota)
  • Tom Mattson

    Public Works Director, Humboldt County (California)
  • Brian Mayhew

    State Traffic Safety Engineer, North Carolina DOT
  • Calley Mersmann

    Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator, City of Cleveland (Ohio)
  • Max Moreland

    Safety Engineer, Minnesota DOT
  • Kevin Murphy

    Manager - Office of Safe Streets, Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission
  • Dan Nabors

    Assistant Bureau Chief, Transportation Engineering & Operations
  • Robert Peterson

    Chief of Federal Programs, Caltrans Division of Local Assistance
  • Sonja Piper

    Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Engineer, Minnesota DOT
  • Todd Postel

    Assistant County Engineer, Jones County (Iowa)
  • Jerry Roche

    Transportation Safety Engineer, FHWA Office of Safety
  • Cate Satterfield

    Transportation Safety Engineer, FHWA Office of Safety
  • Jeff Shaw

    Transportation Safety Engineer
  • Aaron Simmons

    County Engineer, Douglas County (Washington)
  • Derek Snead

    County Engineer, Jones County (Iowa)
  • Ed Sniffen

    Deputy Director Highways Division, State of Hawaii Department of Transportation
  • Ed Spilker

    Senior Transportation Planner, Washington DOT
  • Brad Steckler

    Managing Director of Strategic Planning, Indiana DOT
  • Shaun Tooley

    Transportation Planning Specialist, Missouri DOT
  • Shawn Troy

    Traffic Safety Systems Engineer, North Carolina DOT
  • Mike Vaughn

    Transportation Engineering Specialist, Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC)
  • Cheryl Walker

  • Kerry Wilcoxon

    State Traffic Safety Engineer, Arizona DOT
  • Cory Wilkerson

    Active Transportation Program Manager II
  • Ellen Zavisca

    Principal Transportation Planner, Knox Planning

View Draft Agenda


This virtual event is dedicated to providing a pleasant experience for all attendees. FHWA welcomes your comments, ideas, and concerns and we expect conversations to follow the conventions of civil discourse. 

DOT Order 1351.33, Appendix B, Citizen Conduct Policy.

For an Accessibility Sitemap click here.