MAY 18, 2017 6:00 AM PDT

WEBINAR: Allergen Detection and Authenticity Testing of Food Using Targeted Proteomics and MRM³

Sponsored by: SCIEX
Speaker

Abstract

DATE: May 18th, 2017
TIME: 6:00AM PDT 2:00PM UK 3:00PM CET

Safety and authenticity of food are major global issues. With an estimated 150 million allergic consumers worldwide and approximately 17 million food allergens in the EU, contamination of food with allergens is one of the most urgent problems concerning food safety. Current analytical approaches such as PCR and ELISA carry significant limitations concerning specificity and sensitivity. In recent years, mass spectrometry-based targeted proteomics has evolved into a promising alternative to overcome these shortcomings. This technique can also be applied to efficiently authenticate food.

In this talk, strategies to identify valid marker peptides for allergen detection and authenticity testing are discussed. In addition, the use of MRM3 to obtain optimal sensitivity and specificity in different food matrices is presented.

Learning Objectives:

  • Strategies to identify valid marker peptides for allergen detection and authenticity testing 
  • Use of MRM3 to obtain optimal sensitivity and specificity in different food matrices 

Show Resources
MAY 18, 2017 6:00 AM PDT

WEBINAR: Allergen Detection and Authenticity Testing of Food Using Targeted Proteomics and MRM³

Sponsored by: SCIEX


Show Resources
Show Resources
Connect with us