DEC 01, 2021 9:00 AM PST

The Art and Science of Haematology Morphology: RBC Morphology

Sponsored by: Abbott
C.E. Credits: P.A.C.E. CE Florida CE
Speaker

Abstract
Date: December 1, 2021
Time: 9:00am (California, USA), 12:00pm (New York, USA), 5:00pm (London, UK), 6:00pm (Frankfurt, Germany), 8:00pm (Istanbul, Turkey and Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)
 

The enumeration and analysis of blood cells with automated haematology analysers have significantly improved in recent years due to advances in cell detection technologies, which have reduced the manual differential rate. Despite these improvements, morphology remains a keystone of haematology, particularly with regard to red blood cells and platelets.

 

Join Dan as he presents his second HIT Series webinar on “The Art and Science of Haematology Morphology”, focusing on RBC morphology. In this program, he will use microscopic images from www.Blood-Academy.com to interactively discuss several RBC morphology cases.

 
Learning Objectives
  • Observe a smear from normal blood – show the degrees of natural variation in red cell size and shape and the importance of staining relative to RBCs
  • Review a smear that shows abnormal RBC morphology
  • Talk through anaemia case studies, including microcytic anaemias (iron deficiency anaemia and thalassemia) and macrocytic anaemia (vitamin B12/folate or other megaloblastic anaemias)
  • Discuss red cell fragments as an abnormal finding and the importance of differentiating these from platelets
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
LabRoots is approved as a provider of continuing education programs in the clinical laboratory sciences by the ASCLS P.A.C.E. ® Program. By attending this webinar, you can earn 1 Continuing Education credit once you have viewed the webinar in its entirety.

Show Resources
Show Resources
Connect with us