SEP 14, 2022 8:00 AM PDT

Handle with care: Ensuring LNP lipid quality for better genetic medicines

Sponsored by: SCIEX
Speaker

Abstract
Date:  September 14, 2022
Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 6:00pm (CEST)
 
Lipid nanoparticles (LNPs) are widely used vehicles for oligonucleotide-based therapeutics and vaccines, which are composed of helper lipids, PEGylated lipids and ionizable lipids. LNPs can be susceptible to N-oxide-based impurities that can cause the loss of function of mRNA. The detailed characterization of LNPs and their related impurities is therefore important for developing successful products. In this webinar, we will show how an ionizable lipid, commonly known as DLin-MC3-DMA (MC3), was analyzed with liquid chromatography coupled to mass spectrometry (LC-MS) using electron-activated dissociation (EAD). EAD is a novel type of low-energy electron-impact fragmentation that permitted the detailed structural characterization of singly charged MC3. Structural elucidation was achieved for impurities present at <1%. We will also discuss how this analysis was used to localize double bonds and saturated impurities and differentiate between different oxidated species, including N-oxides. The presented technique can be expanded to other proprietary ionizable lipids, providing valuable information to ensure drug efficacy and safety and to enable the rational design of lipids used in LNPs.
 
Learning Objectives
  • Learn about LNPs and how they are used as a delivery vehicle
  • Discover why process-related lipid impurities are a concern in therapeutics and vaccines
  • Explore how to gain deeper structural insights into lipids and impurities with advanced LC-MS technology
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 

Show Resources
Show Resources
Connect with us