July 17, 2024 Time: 9am PDT, 11am CDT, 12pm EDT

To see or not A1c? HbA1c utilization in light of recent lab guidelines

Sponsored by: Sebia, Inc.
C.E. Credits: P.A.C.E. CE Florida CE
Speaker

Event Date & Time
Date: July 17, 2024
Time: 9am PDT, 11am CDT, 12pm EDT
 
Abstract
Recently, the American Association of Clinical Chemistry (AACC), now Association of Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM), in collaboration with the American Diabetes Association (ADA) released evidence-based guidelines and recommendations for the laboratory analysis in diagnosing and managing patients with diabetes mellitus with a goal of providing better patient care. Compared to the previous versions of the guidelines, published in 2002 and 2011, there are additions to the current version that make it clear there is a potential for misleading HbA1c results; and the document offers advice on what laboratories should be considering when it comes to using HbA1c in screening, diagnosing, and monitoring patients with diabetes.
 
This webinar will showcase some of the key updates in the guidelines and discuss analytical solutions that will enable labs to meet the updated recommendations, while also managing the demands of their A1c testing.
 
Learning Objectives
  • Discuss the standard uses and best practices of HbA1c testing for the clinical laboratory
  • Identify new updates to the guidelines and recommendations for laboratory analysis in the diagnosis and management of diabetes mellitus.
  • Examine circumstances when an HbA1c method result may not be appropriate, recognize how to identify such discordance, and choose appropriate alternatives that are available for testing.
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 

You May Also Like
Loading Comments...
Event Countdown
  • 0 Days
  • 0 Hours
  • 0 Minutes
  • 0 Seconds