MAY 25, 2021 6:00 AM PDT

How Busulfan testing improved the management of Bone Marrow Transplant Patients

Sponsored by: Waters Corporation
C.E. Credits: P.A.C.E. CE Florida CE
Speaker

Abstract

Date:  May 25, 2021

Time: 6:00am (PDT),  9:00am (EDT), 2pm (BST), 3pm (CEST)

 

Therapeutic drug monitoring (TDM) of Busulfan is essential for management of Bone Marrow Transplant (BMT) patients, by optimizing dose, supporting compliance, and minimizing toxicity. Busulfan is a chemotherapeutic agent used as a component in a myeloablative preconditioning regimen before hematological stem cell transplantation. A liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry method for rapid and accurate quantification of Busulfan in plasma was developed and validated in the Department of Chemistry at Baptist Hospital of Miami. The TDM and timely plasma concentration reporting of Busulfan would provide an improvement in the quality-of-care for BMT patients. 

 

Learning Objectives

  • Identify our purpose to measure Busulfan in BMT patients’ samples.
  • Describe a clinical method to measure Busulfan in plasma by LC-MS/MS.
  • Describe the validation results of the method to measure Busulfan in plasma by LC-MS/MS.

 

 

Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.


Show Resources
You May Also Like
SEP 14, 2021 7:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
SEP 14, 2021 7:00 AM PDT
Date: September 14, 2021 Time: 7am PDT, 10am EDT, 4pm CEST A conventional thermal cycler has long been a commodity product in the lab and end-point PCR techniques can be completed almost wit...
SEP 17, 2021 12:00 PM CST
C.E. CREDITS
SEP 17, 2021 12:00 PM CST
Date: September 16, 2021 Time: 9:00pm (PDT), 12:00am (EDT) 3D cellular models like organoids and spheroids offer an opportunity to better understand complex biology in a physiologically rele...
AUG 24, 2021 11:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
AUG 24, 2021 11:00 AM PDT
Date: August 24, 2021 Time: 11:00am (PDT), 1:00pm (EDT) Electron-based dissociation mechanisms have shown great promise for advanced characterization of biomolecules. However, routine adopti...
OCT 12, 2021 9:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
OCT 12, 2021 9:00 AM PDT
Date: October 12, 2021 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT) SCIEX’s next-generation Biologics Explorer software is an innovative platform for the comprehensive and deep characterization o...
NOV 09, 2021 11:00 AM PST
C.E. CREDITS
NOV 09, 2021 11:00 AM PST
Date: November 09, 2021 Time: 11:00am (PDT), 02:00pm (EDT) Clinical translation of human pluripotent stem cells (hPSCs) requires advanced strategies that ensure safe and robust long-term gro...
OCT 20, 2021 9:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
OCT 20, 2021 9:00 AM PDT
Date: October 20, 2021 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT) Protein therapeutics is one of the major drug modalities in biopharma industry. With more and more elucidation of disease pathology,...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources