SEP 19, 2018 6:00 AM PDT

Quality Assurance in the Hematology Laboratory

Sponsored by: Abbott
Speaker

Abstract
DATE: September 19,2018
TIME:  06:00am PDT, 09:00am EDT, 2:00pm BST, 3:00pm CEST
 
Statistical Quality Control is well established as a key assurance technique for medical laboratories. In chemistry and other disciplines, the use of statistical quality control and “Westgard Rules” is common, but the implementation of these techniques is less well understood in hematology. The challenge of hematology parameters, particularly the short life of the controls, often introduces additional variation and errors that obscure the real status of the patient specimens. The issues of using external controls has often led hematology labs to adopt inaccurate and inefficient practices in their quality control program. Through benchmarking on the Six Sigma scale, it is possible to optimize the QC process for hematology parameters, adjusting the QC rules and controls so that tests are not “over-QC’d” nor “under-QC’d”.
 
Learning Objectives:
  • Recognize poor QC practices in hematology
  • Adopt best QC practices
  • Optimize the “Westgard Rules” for hematology parameters
  • Adjust QC frequency to account for the Sigma-metric performance of the test
 
Don't miss a future webinar.  Sign up today to receive updates.

Show Resources
You May Also Like
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: June 28, 2022 Time: 3:00pm (BST), 4:00pm (CET), 9:00am (CST), 7am (PST) Light-sheet microscopy is an extremely versatile imaging technique with a vast range of implementations that are...
MAR 23, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
MAR 23, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
Date: March 23, 2021 Time: 11:00am (PDT), 2:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEDT) In this presentation, Dr. Middleton will review the development and deployment of large-scale saliva-based COVID-19 test...
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: May 17, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEST) Gene therapeutics have great potential to treat many severe diseases in an unprecedented, targeted manner. The biopharmace...
AUG 24, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
AUG 24, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: August 24, 2022 Time: 7:00am (PDT), 10:00pm (EDT), 4:00pm (CEST) Light field microscopy was first introduced in 2006, and allows users to capture the 4D light field within the microsco...
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
JUN 21, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
Date: June 21, 2022 Time: 6:00am (PDT), 9:00am (EDT), 3:00pm (CEST) The global understanding and practice of medicine is currently undergoing a revolutionary change. This shift to precision...
MAR 30, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
MAR 30, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
Targeted NGS has been instrumental in helping the healthcare community deliver on the promise of precision medicine. The Ion Torrent Genexus Integrated Sequencer has enabled targeted genomic...
SEP 19, 2018 6:00 AM PDT

Quality Assurance in the Hematology Laboratory

Sponsored by: Abbott


Show Resources
Loading Comments...
Show Resources