Broadcast One: June 20, 2024, 10am PDT, 12pm CDT, 1pm ET | Broadcast Two: June 21, 2024, 9am CEST, 12:30pm IST, 3pm SGT, 5pm AEST

Feasibility study of an automated targeted metagenomics NGS application for rapid detection of bacteria and fungi directly from specimens

Sponsored by: Thermo Fisher Scientific
Speaker
  • Jennifer Dien Bard, Ph.D., D(ABMM), FIDSA, FAAM

    Interim Chief of Laboratory Medicine Director, Clinical Microbiology and Virology, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Children's Hospital Los Angeles; Professor of Pathology (Clinical Scholar), Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California
    BIOGRAPHY

Event Date & Time
Broadcast One:
Date: June 20, 2024
Time: 10am PDT, 12pm CDT, 1pm ET
 
Broadcast Two:
Date: June 21, 2024
Time: 9am CEST, 12:30pm IST, 3pm SGT, 5pm AEST
Abstract
Rapid detection and identification of microbial pathogens in the laboratory is imperative. However, standard microbiology testing approaches often depend on the recovery and culture of viable organisms, limiting their use. More recently, next-generation sequencing (NGS) approaches have been successfully used for various applications within the laboratory, but adoption in most laboratories is challenging due to the complexity, expertise, and resources required. To address these shortcomings, we evaluated an automated targeted metagenomic NGS method to rapidly detect bacteria and fungi directly from specimens. This presentation will describe the performance of this new approach and its advantages over other methods.
 
Learning Objectives
  • Understand the importance of rapid NGS-based approaches to detect and identify microbes in the laboratory
  • Learn how custom Ion AmpliSeq targeted NGS panels can be used with the Ion Torrent Genexus Integrated Sequencer to deliver NGS test results in as little as 24 hours
  • Understand the performance of the new rapid microbial identification method and how it has the potential to be incorporated into standard microbiology testing in the future
 
 
For research use only. Not for use in diagnostic procedures.
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
 

You May Also Like
Loading Comments...
Event Countdown
  • 0 Days
  • 0 Hours
  • 0 Minutes
  • 0 Seconds