APR 27, 2021 7:00 AM PDT

High Resolution Imaging of Zebrafish at Nano and Millimeter Scale

Sponsored by: Andor
C.E. Credits: P.A.C.E. CE Florida CE
Speakers

Abstract
Date: April 27, 2021
Time: 7:00am (PDT),  10:00am (EDT),  4:00pm (BST),  5:00pm (CEST)
 
Visualization is an important step to address complex biological questions in vivo. The imaging process can widen the perspective of analysis by putting molecular biology data into their biological and spatial contexts, including investigation of the dynamics of cell processes.
 
Recent years witnessed major improvements in imaging technologies mostly for in vitro analyses of cells; imaging in vivo lagged behind. Despite its prominence as a model, the mouse shows severe limitations for high-resolution imaging, especially when investigating fine object such as therapeutic nanoparticles and the cells with which they interact.
 
Recently, the zebrafish model has emerged as a powerful alternative model to investigate complex biological question in vivo, and this for mainly two reasons:
1) Its small size and transparency at the larvae stage provide excellent conditions for non-invasive live-imaging.
2) Its small size at both larvae and adult stage are also particularly suited for whole-organism investigations.
Together, these two crucial features secure an exceptional preservation of the biological context.
 
Here, I will present the advantages of the zebrafish model for high-resolution imaging and point out how it allowed us to identify a new biological mechanism impacting the fate of intravenously-injected nanoparticles, and to explore the organization of mucosal immunity in fish.
 
Learning Objectives
  • Recognize Zebrafish as an excellent model Organism for in vivo imaging.
  • Discover how high-resolution microscopy imaging can be used to study nanotechnology and identify new biological mechanisms.
  • Illustrate the advantages of 3D multi-fields of view and high-resolution imaging to study the immune system.
 
 
Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
 
LabRoots is approved as a provider of continuing education programs in the clinical laboratory sciences by the ASCLS P.A.C.E. ® Program. By attending this webinar, you can earn 1 Continuing Education credit once you have viewed the webinar in its entirety.

Show Resources
You May Also Like
MAR 16, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
MAR 16, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: March 16, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 5:00pm (CET) Handling of potent and/or hazardous substances is commonplace in sev.....
APR 26, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
APR 26, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: April 19, 2022 Time: 7:00am (PDT), 10:00am (EDT), 4:00pm (CEST) High-content (HC) phenotypic profiling approaches are a powerful tool to study the effect of biological, genetic, and ch...
NOV 30, 2021 10:00 AM PST
C.E. CREDITS
NOV 30, 2021 10:00 AM PST
Date: November 30, 2021 Time: 10:00am (PDT), 1:00pm (EDT) The prevalence of thyroid disease worldwide has served as a catalyst for healthcare providers to study various tools and methods to...
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: May 17, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEST) Gene therapeutics have great potential to treat many severe diseases in an unprecedented, targeted manner. The biopharmace...
APR 28, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
APR 28, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: April 28, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 5:00pm (CEST) Human pluripotent stem cells (PSCs) and their derivatives hold great potentials in...
MAR 16, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
MAR 16, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: March 16, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 6:00pm (CEDT) With a renewed and growing interest in therapeutic oligonucleotides (oligos) across the pharmaceutical industry, the req...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources