JUL 20, 2016 8:00 AM PDT

Using multiplexed IHC to effectively navigate the hidden clues of the immunological microenvironment

Speaker

Abstract
DATE: July 20th
TIME: 8AM PT, 11AM ET, 5PM CEST


Therapies like ipilimumab and nivolumab  have shown the potential for approaches that direct the patient’s own immune system against tumors.  Further advances will require a detailed understanding of the tumor microenvironment and characterization of the location and status of immune cells and their interaction with tumor cells.  This will require methods that provide phenotyping of immune and cancer cells combined with the cytoarchitectonics of the tumor. To achieve this, a practical method for simultaneous immunohistochemistry of up to 8 biomarkers in a single tissue section using standard unlabeled primary antibodies will be described. In addition, approaches for multiplexed imaging, single cell quantitative analysis, automated phenotyping and bioinformatics that enable new insights into cancer biology and immunology will be presented. These will then be leveraged in analyses of multiple cancer types, where it is established that the host-tumor interaction is complex and difficult to characterize with standard immunohistochemistry or flow cytometry. But by leveraging multiplexed IHC in situ, we will demonstrate the unique spatial relationships of immune phenotypes in and around both epithelial and non-epithelial tumor types, and show how this data has the potential to form the basis of assays that can guide therapy and monitor response. Further data regarding functional assessment of regulatory immunologic co-factor expression will be discussed.
 

Show Resources
You May Also Like
AUG 16, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
AUG 16, 2022 11:00 AM PDT
Date: August 16, 2022 Time: 11:00am (PDT), 2:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEST) Understanding genomic variation in the context of cancer is paramount to identifying disease drivers and informing pers...
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
MAY 17, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: May 17, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 8:00pm (CEST) Gene therapeutics have great potential to treat many severe diseases in an unprecedented, targeted manner. The biopharmace...
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
JUN 28, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: June 28, 2022 Time: 3:00pm (BST), 4:00pm (CET), 9:00am (CST), 7am (PST) Light-sheet microscopy is an extremely versatile imaging technique with a vast range of implementations that are...
SEP 29, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
SEP 29, 2022 8:00 AM PDT
Date: September 29, 2022 Time: 8:00am (PDT), 11:00am (EDT), 5:00pm (CEST) Adeno-associated virus (AAV) is one of the most widely used delivery vehicles in gene therapy. To ensure the safety...
SEP 22, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
SEP 22, 2022 9:00 AM PDT
Date: September 22, 2022 Time: 9:00am (PDT), 12:00pm (EDT), 6:00pm (CEST) Optimizing platforms for surgical specimen collection and deep human phenotyping was used to enhance protein biomarke...
OCT 05, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
OCT 05, 2022 7:00 AM PDT
Date: October 05, 2022 Time: 7:00am (PDT), 10:00am (EDT), 4:00pm (CEST) Cancer is a complex disease at the level of both cells and tissues, and uncovering novel treatments requires understan...
Loading Comments...
Show Resources