JAN 29, 2020 9:30 PM PST

Significance of Mean Cell Hemoglobin of the Reticulocytes (MCHr) biomarker in Diagnosis of Iron Deficiency Anemia

Sponsored by: Abbott Diagnostics
C.E. Credits: P.A.C.E. CE Florida CE
Speaker
  • Professor, Head and Director of the Laboratories at Ruby Hall Hospital, Pune India
    Biography
      Dr. Nita Munshi is Professor, Head and Director of the Laboratories at Ruby Hall Hospital, Pune India. This is a group of specialty hospitals with 750 beds. She also heads the Steering Committee for Quality Control and is the Chairperson of the Hospital Infection Control Committee.
      Dr. Munshi is an alumna of the Seth G.S. Medical College & KEM Hospital in Mumbai and now has about 34 years of experience in Laboratory Medicine. She is a teacher for post-graduate students in Pathology and also serves as a guide for Ph.D. students at the University of Pune.
      She has also authored chapters in pathology books and has presented papers and posters in both national and international conferences. She is very passionate about Infection Control and hence works closely with Infectious Disease clinicians.
      Dr. Munshi is the President of the Thalassemia Society of Pune and works for the welfare of the children living with thalassemia and their families. She is also a life member of ISHTM, IAPM, ISLH, and HISI.
      Her passions are Hematology and Quality.

    Abstract
    DATE/TIME: 
     
    Wednesday, January 29  9:30pm PST
    Thursday, January 30  12:30 am EST, 5:30 am GMT, 6:30 am CET, 11:00 am IST, 2:30 pm JST, 4:30 pm AEDT
     
    Iron is an essential metal for the body and is required for hemoglobin synthesis in erythrocytes, oxidation reduction reactions & cellular proliferation. Iron deficiency anemia (IDA) is the most common anemia worldwide. It is especially prevalent in women and children in regions where meat intake is low, food is not fortified with iron, and where malaria and other parasitic infections are common. The analysis of Mean Cell Hemoglobin of the reticulocytes (MCHr) by a hematology analyzer can help monitor acute changes in hemoglobin incorporation into the erythron and is more sensitive than indirect chemical methods. Compared with erythrocytes, the shorter lifespan of reticulocytes makes MCHr a better biomarker to reflect short term iron status in patients than hemoglobin values. Since MCHr values can be obtained on a routine CBC, it is an attractive alternative for the diagnosis of IDA especially in countries with high prevalence of the disease.
     
    Learning Objectives:
    • Review the global impact of iron deficiency anemia (IDA)
    • Describe iron metabolism, absorption, regulation, and storage
    • Review laboratory diagnosis of IDA, including new parameters
    • Share results of IDA study performed on Abbott’s Alinity hq CBC analyzer
     
    Don't miss a future webinar. Sign up today to receive updates.
     
    Alinity h-series is available in select countries, not including the US.
     
    Webinars will be available for unlimited on-demand viewing after live event.
    LabRoots is approved as a provider of continuing education programs in the clinical laboratory sciences by the ASCLS P.A.C.E. ® Program. By attending this webinar, you can earn 1 Continuing Education credit once you have viewed the webinar in its entirety.

    Show Resources
    You May Also Like
    APR 07, 2020 8:00 AM PDT
    C.E. CREDITS
    APR 07, 2020 8:00 AM PDT
    DATE: April 7, 2020 TIME: 8:00am PT, 11:00am ET This webinar sets out to establish why quality control is key to robust, reliable, reproducible science. We will look at best practice criteri...
    JUN 09, 2020 10:00 AM PDT
    C.E. CREDITS
    JUN 09, 2020 10:00 AM PDT
    DATE: June 9, 2020 TIME: 10:00am PT, 1:00pm ET The presentation will first discuss sepsis as a disease and then explain the importance of performing diagnostic tests in the clinical labora...
    JUN 23, 2020 10:00 AM PDT
    C.E. CREDITS
    JUN 23, 2020 10:00 AM PDT
    DATE: June 23, 2020 TIME: 10:00am PT Human mesenchymal stromal or stem cells (MSCs)-based immunomodulation treatment has been proposed as a suitable therapeutic approach for many diseases, s...
    FEB 26, 2020 9:00 AM PST
    C.E. CREDITS
    FEB 26, 2020 9:00 AM PST
    DATE: February 26, 2020 TIME: 9:00am PST 3D cell culture and analysis and the study of organoids and spheroids are becoming more prevalent as a research method in publications as traditional...
    JUN 17, 2020 1:30 PM PDT
    C.E. CREDITS
    JUN 17, 2020 1:30 PM PDT
    Understanding the complex interplay between a pathogen and the host response is important to developing effective vaccines and therapeutics. The nCounter® Analysis System and GeoMx®...
    FEB 19, 2020 11:00 AM PST
    C.E. CREDITS
    FEB 19, 2020 11:00 AM PST
    DATE: February 19, 2020TIME: 11:00am PST, 2:00pm EST...
    Loading Comments...
    Show Resources
    Attendees
    • See more