FEB 29, 2016 09:00 AM PST
Clinical Controversies in Vitamin D Testing and Treatment
SPONSORED BY: DiaSorin
CONTINUING EDUCATION (CME/CE/CEU) CREDITS: P.A.C.E. CE
24 108 16294

Speakers:
  • Senior Consultant, Minnesota Personalized Medicine
    Biography
      Gregory A. Plotnikoff, MD, MTS, FACP, is a board-certified internist and pediatrician in active clinical practice who has received numerous national and international awards for research and education. He is the lead author of one book, 25 textbook chapters and more than 60 articles in the peer-reviewed medical literature. His 2003 article on vitamin D deficiency and chronic, non-specific musculoskeletal pain is one of the most highly-cited articles in the history of the Mayo Clinic Proceedings. He is a graduate of Carleton College, Harvard University Divinity School and the University of Minnesota Medical School.

    Abstract:
    9:00AM Pacific time, 11:00AM Central time, 12:00PM Eastern time

    Clinical Controversies Recently, both national and international authorities have promulgated conflicting statements on vitamin D testing and treatment. What are clinicians and patients to do?

    This webinar will address the existing data so that participants can answer these five key clinical questions:
    • Who might be at risk for low vitamin D? 
    • Can we assess for vitamin D deficiency by physical exam? 
    • Is a multivitamin or prenatal vitamin sufficient?
    • What are the best means to assure sufficient vitamin D levels?
    • What research questions still need to be answered?
    • Sufficient time will be available for a live question and answer period for all real-time participants.
    Learning Objectives:

    1) Understand the role of vitamin D as a hormone
    2) Identify which patients are at greatest risk for low vitamin D
    3) Recognize the clinical indications for vitamin D testing and treatment
     
     

    Show Resources
    Loading Comments...