MENU
DEC 14 - 15 2020

ORWH's 30th Anniversary Virtual Meeting Series: Advancing the Health of Women Through Science

ORWH is hosting three virtual meetings to celebrate 30 years of women’s health and sex and gender research within and beyond the NIH scientific community.
 

BIRCWH

Celebrating its 20th year, BIRCWH is a mentored career-development program connecting junior faculty—known as BIRCWH Scholars—to senior faculty with shared interests in women’s health and sex differences research. The annual meeting brings BIRCWH Scholars and faculty together to share research and experiences. The 4th Ruth L. Kirschstein Memorial Lectureship will focus on the importance of and improvements made in mentoring young investigators. The plenary session will feature presentations on research findings by leading BIRCWH Scholars. A special “Innovation Talk” to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the BIRCWH program will close the event.

 

30th Anniversary Scientific Symposium

This symposium, titled “Advancing the Health of Women Through Science,” will feature opening remarks by NIH Director Dr. Francis Collins, a keynote address on women’s mental health across the life course, and a panel of directors from several NIH Institutes and Centers discussing their perspectives on women’s health. Additional presentations will discuss high-priority women’s health topics, such as applying the principle of studying sex as a biological variable across scientific disciplines.

 

SCORE

The Specialized Centers of Research Excellence on Sex Differences, or SCORE, program is the only NIH cooperative agreement program supporting disease-agnostic research on sex differences. Each center serves as a national resource for translational research to identify the role of biological sex differences in the health of women. At this year’s SCORE Annual Meeting, Dr. Jocalyn Clark, Executive Editor of The Lancet, will present the keynote address: “Sex Differences Research and the Health of Women: An Editor’s Perspective.”


Speakers
  • John M. Balbus, M.D., M.P.H.

    Senior Advisor for Public Health, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Diana W. Bianchi, M.D.

    Director, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Janine Austin Clayton, M.D.

    Associate Director for Research on Women's Health, National Institute of Health (NIH) and Director, NIH Office of Research on Women's Health
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Francis S Collins, M.D., Ph.D.

    Director of the National Institutes of Health
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Gwen W. Collman, Ph.D.

    Acting Deputy Director, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Karen Freund, M.D., M.P.H.

    Sara Murray Jordan Professor of Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine Vice Chair, Department of Medicine, Tufts Medical Center
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Monica Webb Hooper, Ph.D.

    Deputy Director, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Shaheen Lakhan, M.D., Ph.D., M.Ed., M.S., FAAN

    Executive Director, Global Neuroscience Initiative Foundation Adjunct Professor of Neuroscience, Virginia Tech University
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Helene Langevin, M.D.

    Director, National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Pauline M Maki, Ph.D.

    Professor of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Obstetrics & Gynecology Director, Women's Mental Health Research Program, University of Illinois at Chicago
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Virginia M. Miller, MBA, PhD

    Professor Emeritus, Surgery and Physiology, Mayo Clinic
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Judith Regensteiner, Ph.D

    Director, Center for Women's Health Research Director, Divisions of General Internal Medicine and Cardiology
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Norman E. Sharpless, M.D

    Director, National Cancer Institute (NCI)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Kedir Turi, Ph.D.

    Professor of Medicine, Research Assistant, Vanderbilt University Medical Center ORWH BIRCWH Scholar
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Nora D. Volkow, M.D.

    Director, National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mary Woolley, M.A.

    President, Research!America Member, National Academy of Medicine Member, National Academies Board on Life Sciences and Board on Higher Education and Workforce
    BIOGRAPHY

Show Resources
You May Also Like
DEC 07, 2021 3:00 PM EST
DEC 07, 2021 3:00 PM EST
Date: December 7, 2021 Time: 12:30-5:00 p.m. ET #NCATS10...
JAN 25, 2022 1:00 AM PST
JAN 25, 2022 1:00 AM PST
Europe - 10:00 AM Central European Time United Kingdom - 10:00 AM British Summer Time North America - 10:00 AM Central Standard Time Lab Compliance Connect – The world’s leading...
APR 19, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
APR 19, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
LabRoots is excited to announce our 10th Annual Genetics Virtual Week held on April 19-21, 2022! Genetics Virtual Week 2022 will offer a multi-day content-rich program combining stellar expe...
SEP 06, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
SEP 06, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
LabRoots is excited to bring academia and industry, research experts, virologists, microbiologists, healthcare professionals, and leading biomedical scientists under one roof at our 8th Annu...
NOV 09, 2022 6:00 AM PST
NOV 09, 2022 6:00 AM PST
Thirteen years ago Labroots launched a new system of learning for a global scientific audience. Now, the 2022 Clinical Diagnostics and Research Virtual Event will again bring together clinic...
MAR 23, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
MAR 23, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
LabRoots is pleased to announce the 5th Annual 2021 Cannabis Sciences Virtual Event . LabRoots will host the event on March 23, 2022. The Cannabis Sciences planning committee will be plannin...
Agenda
  • Closing Remarks and Adjourn
    DEC 15, 2020 5:15 PM EST
    Closing Remarks and Adjourn
    Janine Clayton, M.D.
    Associate Director for Research on Women's Health, National Institute of Health (NIH) and Director, NIH Office of Research on Women's Health
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Afternoon Keynote Address: Meeting the Moment
    DEC 15, 2020 4:30 PM EST
    Afternoon Keynote Address: Meeting the Moment
    Mary Woolley, M.A.
    President, Research!America Member, National Academy of Medicine Member, National Academies Board on Life Sciences and Board on Higher Education and Workforce
    BIOGRAPHY
  • DEC 15, 2020 2:30 PM EST
    Perspectives from NIH Institute Directors
    Janine Clayton, M.D., Helene Langevin, M.D., Norman Sharpless, M.D, Diana Bianchi, M.D., Nora Volkow, M.D., Gwen Collman, Ph.D., Monica Webb Hooper, Ph.D.
    Janine Austin Clayton, M.D.
    Associate Director for Research on Women's Health, National Institute of Health (NIH) and Director, NIH Office of Research on Women's Health
    BIOGRAPHY
    Helene Langevin, M.D.
    Director, National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
    BIOGRAPHY
    Norman E. Sharpless, M.D
    Director, National Cancer Institute (NCI)
    BIOGRAPHY
    Diana W. Bianchi, M.D.
    Director, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
    BIOGRAPHY
    Nora D. Volkow, M.D.
    Director, National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
    BIOGRAPHY
    Gwen W. Collman, Ph.D.
    Acting Deputy Director, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
    BIOGRAPHY
    Monica Webb Hooper, Ph.D.
    Deputy Director, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • DEC 15, 2020 1:15 PM EST
    Panel Topic: Sex as a Biological Variable (SABV)
    Judith Regensteiner, Ph.D, Virginia Miller, MBA, PhD, Karen Freund, M.D., M.P.H., Kedir Turi, Ph.D.
    Judith Regensteiner, Ph.D
    Director, Center for Women's Health Research Director, Divisions of General Internal Medicine and Cardiology
    BIOGRAPHY
    Virginia M. Miller, MBA, PhD
    Professor Emeritus, Surgery and Physiology, Mayo Clinic
    BIOGRAPHY
    Karen Freund, M.D., M.P.H.
    Sara Murray Jordan Professor of Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine Vice Chair, Department of Medicine, Tufts Medical Center
    BIOGRAPHY
    Kedir Turi, Ph.D.
    Professor of Medicine, Research Assistant, Vanderbilt University Medical Center ORWH BIRCWH Scholar
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Pain and its Management in Women
    DEC 15, 2020 12:00 PM EST
    Pain and its Management in Women
    Shaheen Lakhan, M.D., Ph.D., M.Ed., M.S., FAAN
    Executive Director, Global Neuroscience Initiative Foundation Adjunct Professor of Neuroscience, Virginia Tech University
    BIOGRAPHY
  • How Women's Environments Affect their Health
    DEC 15, 2020 11:30 AM EST
    How Women's Environments Affect their Health
    John Balbus, M.D., M.P.H.
    Senior Advisor for Public Health, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Morning Keynote Address: Women's Mental Health Across the Life Course
    DEC 15, 2020 10:30 AM EST
    Morning Keynote Address: Women's Mental Health Across the Life Course
    Pauline Maki, Ph.D.
    Professor of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Obstetrics & Gynecology Director, Women's Mental Health Research Program, University of Illinois at Chicago
    BIOGRAPHY
  • ORWH Video Tribute
    DEC 15, 2020 10:20 AM EST
    ORWH Video Tribute
  • Remarks by Dr. Collins
    DEC 15, 2020 10:00 AM EST
    Remarks by Dr. Collins
    Francis Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
    Director of the National Institutes of Health
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Welcome and Opening Remarks
    DEC 15, 2020 9:30 AM EST
    Welcome and Opening Remarks
    Janine Clayton, M.D.
    Associate Director for Research on Women's Health, National Institute of Health (NIH) and Director, NIH Office of Research on Women's Health
    BIOGRAPHY
Agenda - BIRCWH

MONDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2020
 
Opening Session
Run Time: 10:00am-11:00am EST/7:00am-8:00am PST
 
Welcome from ORWH
Presentation Time: 10:00am-10:15am EST/7:00am-7:15am PST
Janine Austin Clayton, M.D.
Associate Director for Research on Women’s Health, NIH
Director, NIH Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH) 
 
Lisa Begg, Dr.P.H., RN
Senior Research Program Officer, ORWH
Program Officer, BIRCWH program
 
Introduction of Keynote Speaker 
Janine Austin Clayton, M.D.
Presentation Time: 10:15am-10:20am EST/7:15am-7:20am PST
 
Keynote Address: Ruth L. Kirschstein Memorial Lectureship 
Patricia E. Molina, MD, PhD.
Richard Ashman Professor and Head Department of Physiology, and Director, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Center of Excellence, School of Medicine,  Louisiana State University, New Orleans, LA. 
Presentation Time: 10:20am-11:00am EST/7:20am-8:00am PST
 
Virtual Podium Session for Top 3 BIRCWH Scholars’ Abstracts
Run Time: 11:00am-12:00pm EST/8:00am-9:00am PST
 
Introduction to Virtual Podium Sessions
Lisa Begg, Dr.P.H., RN
 
Sex Differences in the Prevalence of Ideal Cardiovascular Health among US Adults
Presenting Author: Joshua D. Bundy, Ph.D., MPH
Program PI: M. “Tonette” Krousel-Wood, M.D., Tulane University BIRCWH program
Other Contributors: Robert C. Hendel, M. “Tonette” Krousel-Wood, M.D., Paul K. Whelton, Jiang He
Presentation Time: 11:00am-11:15am EST/8:00am-8:15am PST
 
Oxytocin Administration in Low-risk Labor and Birth: Duration of Infusion and Likelihood of Postpartum Hemorrhage
Presenting Author: Elise N. Erickson, Ph.D., C.N.M.
Program PI: Jeanne-Marie Guise, M.D., M.P.H., Oregon Health & Science University BIRCWH program
Other Contributors: Nicole S. Carlson
Presentation Time: 11:15am-11:30am EST/8:15am-8:30am PST
 
Recurrent Episodic Cortical Spreading Depressions Produce Trigeminal Mechanical Allodynia and Anxiety-Related Behaviors
Presenting Author: Andrea Harriott, M.D., Ph.D
Program PI: Jill M. Goldstein, Ph.D., Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School BIRCWH program
Other Contributors: David Y. Chung, Aylin Uner, Andreia Morais, Tsubasa Takizawa, Tao Qin, Cenk Ayata
Presentation Time: 11:30am-11:45am EST/8:30am-8:45am PST

Virtual Q&A for the 3 Scholars11:45 am-12:00 pm  EST/ 8:45 am - 9:00 am PST
 

Legacy of Leadership Lecture
Run Time: 12:15pm-1:00pm EST/9:15am-10:00am PST
 
Introduction to Legacy of Leadership
Xenia Tigno, Ph.D., M.S. (Epi)
Associate Director for Careers, ORWH
 
20th Anniversary BIRCWH Legacy of Leadership Lecture  
Claire E. Sterk, Ph.D. President Emerita and Charles Howard Candler Professor of Public Health Emory University
Presentation Time:  12:15pm-12:50pm EST/9:15am-9:50am PST
 
Closing Plenary Comments
Time: 12:50pm–1:00pm EST/9:50am-10:00am PST
 
Lunch Break
Time: 1:00pm–1:30pm EST/10:00am-10:30am PST
 
Virtual BIRCWH Poster Sessions
Time: 1:30pm–5:00pm EST/10:35am-2:00pm PST
 
Formal Meeting Adjourned
Time: 5:00pm EST/2:00pm PST
 
Informal Virtual Networking Session
Time: 5:00pm-6:00pm EST/2:00pm-3:00pm PST

Agenda - ORWH

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2020
 
Morning Session
Run Time: 9:30–10:30am EST/6:30–7:30am PST
 
Welcome, Opening Remarks, and Dr. Collins’ Introduction
Janine Clayton, M.D.
Associate Director for Research on Women’s Health, NIH
Director, NIH Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH)
Presentation Time: 9:30–10:00am EST/6:30–7:00am PST
 
Remarks by Dr. Collins
Francis Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, NIH
Presentation Time: 10:00-10:20am EST/7:00-7:20am PST
 
ORWH Video Tribute
Time: 10:20am–10:30am EST/7:20am-7:30am PST
 
Morning Keynote Address
Run Time: 10:30–11:20am EST/7:30–8:20am PST
 
Topic: Women’s Mental Health Across the Life Course
Pauline M. Maki, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Obstetrics & Gynecology
Director, Women’s Mental Health Research Program, University of Illinois at Chicago
Presentation Time: 10:30-11:00am EST/7:30am-8:00am PST
 
Q&A
Time: 11:00-11:20am EST/8:00am-8:20am PST
 
Break
Time: 11:20am–11:30am EST/8:20am-8:30am PST
 
Presentations
Run Time: 11:30am–12:35am EST/8:30am-9:35am PST
 
Topic: How Women's Enviornments Affect Their Health
John Balbus, M.D., M.P.H.
Senior Advisor for Public Health, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
Director, NIEHS–World Health Organization Collaborating Centre for Environmental Health Sciences
Presentation Time: 11:30am–12:00pm EST/8:30am-9:00am PST
 
Topic: Pain and its Management in Women
Shaheen Lakhan, M.D., Ph.D., M.Ed., M.S., FAAN
Adjunct Professor of Neuroscience, Virginia Tech University
Executive Director, Global Neuroscience Initiative Foundation
Chief of Pain Management, Carilion Clinic
Presentation Time: 12:00pm–12:30pm EST/9:00am-9:30am PST
 
Q&A
Time: 12:30pm-12:45pm EST/9:30am-9:45am PST
 
Lunch
Time: 12:45pm-1:15pm EST/9:45am-10:15am PST
 
Afternoon Session
Run Time: 1:15pm-2:30pm EST/10:15am-11:30am PST
 
Opening of Afternoon Session
Lisa Begg, Dr.P.H., RN
Senior Research Program Officer, ORWH
Time: 1:15pm-1:20pm EST/10:15am-10:20am PST
 
Panel Topic: Sex as a Biological Variable (SABV)
Presentation Time: 1:20pm-2:00pm EST/10:20am-11:00am PST
 
Panel Moderator
Judith Regensteiner, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
Judith and Joseph Wagner Endowed Chair in Women’s Health
Director, Center for Women’s Health Research Director, Divisions of General Internal Medicine and Cardiology
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
 
Panelists
Sex as a Biological Variable from Research to Clinical Practice
Virginia M. Miller, Ph.D., M.B.A.
Professor, Departments of Surgery and Physiology
Mayo Clinic
 
Mentoring to Address Sex as a Biological Variable
Karen Freund, M.D., M.P.H.
Sara Murray Jordan Professor of Medicine 
Tufts University School of Medicine
Vice Chair of Medicine, Tufts Medical Center
American Cancer Society - Harry and Elsa Jiler Clinical Research Professor
 
Scholar Perspective on Adopting SABV in Research
Kedir Turi, PhD
Research Assistant Professor of Medicine Vanderbilt University Medical Center
ORWH BIRCWH Scholar
 
Q&A
Time: 2:00pm-2:30pm EST/11:00am-11:30am PST
 
Perspectives from NIH Institute Directors
Run Time: 2:30pm-4:30pm EST/11:30am-2:30pm PST
 
Introduction—Janine Clayton, M.D., ORWH Director
 
NIH Institute Directors
Diana Bianchi, M.D. (NICHD Director)
Gwen Collman, Ph.D. (NIEHS Acting Deputy Director)
Helene Langevin, M.D. (NCCIH Director)
Monica Webb Hooper, Ph.D. (NIMHD Deputy Director)
Norman Sharpless, M.D. (NCI Director)
Nora Volkow, M.D. (NIDA Director)
Presentation Time: 2:30pm-4:00pm EST/11:30am-1:00pm PST
 
Q&A
Time: 4:00-4:30pm EST/1:00pm-1:30pm PST
 
Afternoon Keynote Address
Run Time: 4:30pm-5:30pm EST/1:30pm-2:30pm PST
 
Meeting the Moment
Mary Woolley, M.A.
President, Research America
Member, National Academy of Medicine
Member, National Academies Board on Life Sciences and Board on Higher Education and Workforce
Presentation Time: 4:30pm-5:00pm EST/1:30pm-2:00pm PST
 
Q&A
Time: 5:00pm-5:15pm EST/2:00pm-2:15 PST
 
Closing Remarks and Adjourn
Janine Clayton, M.D.
Associate Director for Research on Women’s Health, NIH
Director, NIH Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH)
Presentation Time: 5:15pm-5:30pm EST/2:15pm-2:30pm PST

Speakers

  • John M. Balbus, M.D., M.P.H.
    John M. Balbus, M.D., M.P.H.
    Senior Advisor for Public Health, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Diana W. Bianchi, M.D.
    Diana W. Bianchi, M.D.
    Director, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Janine Austin Clayton, M.D.
    Janine Austin Clayton, M.D.
    Associate Director for Research on Women's Health, National Institute of Health (NIH) and Director, NIH Office of Research on Women's Health
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Francis S Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
    Francis S Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
    Director of the National Institutes of Health
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Gwen W. Collman, Ph.D.
    Gwen W. Collman, Ph.D.
    Acting Deputy Director, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Karen Freund, M.D., M.P.H.
    Karen Freund, M.D., M.P.H.
    Sara Murray Jordan Professor of Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine Vice Chair, Department of Medicine, Tufts Medical Center
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Monica Webb Hooper, Ph.D.
    Monica Webb Hooper, Ph.D.
    Deputy Director, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Shaheen Lakhan, M.D., Ph.D., M.Ed., M.S., FAAN
    Shaheen Lakhan, M.D., Ph.D., M.Ed., M.S., FAAN
    Executive Director, Global Neuroscience Initiative Foundation Adjunct Professor of Neuroscience, Virginia Tech University
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Helene Langevin, M.D.
    Helene Langevin, M.D.
    Director, National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Pauline M Maki, Ph.D.
    Pauline M Maki, Ph.D.
    Professor of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Obstetrics & Gynecology Director, Women's Mental Health Research Program, University of Illinois at Chicago
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Virginia M. Miller, MBA, PhD
    Virginia M. Miller, MBA, PhD
    Professor Emeritus, Surgery and Physiology, Mayo Clinic
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Judith Regensteiner, Ph.D
    Judith Regensteiner, Ph.D
    Director, Center for Women's Health Research Director, Divisions of General Internal Medicine and Cardiology
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Norman E. Sharpless, M.D
    Norman E. Sharpless, M.D
    Director, National Cancer Institute (NCI)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Kedir Turi, Ph.D.
    Kedir Turi, Ph.D.
    Professor of Medicine, Research Assistant, Vanderbilt University Medical Center ORWH BIRCWH Scholar
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Nora D. Volkow, M.D.
    Nora D. Volkow, M.D.
    Director, National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mary Woolley, M.A.
    Mary Woolley, M.A.
    President, Research!America Member, National Academy of Medicine Member, National Academies Board on Life Sciences and Board on Higher Education and Workforce
    BIOGRAPHY
SCORE - Keynote
Help

Demographics

Loading Comments...
Show Resources