MENU
Speakers

  • Alash'le G. Abimiku
    Alash'le G. Abimiku
    Institute of Human Virology Nigeria, Abuja, Nigeria
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Ezekiel Adebiyi, BSc, MSc, PhD
    Ezekiel Adebiyi, BSc, MSc, PhD
    Professor
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Olumide Ajibola, PhD
    Olumide Ajibola, PhD
    Postdoc, MRC Unit The Gambia at LSHTM
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dominic Amuzu, MPHIL
    Dominic Amuzu, MPHIL
    PhD Research Fellow, WACCBIP, University of Ghana
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Amayoa Francis Anyaka, BS
    Amayoa Francis Anyaka, BS
    Master Student, Makerere University
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Adeyinka Ashaye
    Adeyinka Ashaye
    University of Ibadan College of Medicine, Nigeria
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Kidist Bobosha
    Kidist Bobosha

  • Nadia Carstens, PhD
    Nadia Carstens, PhD
    Principal Medical Scientist, Division of Human Genetics, National Health Laboratory Service and the University of the Witwatersrand
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Cheickna Cisse, PhD
    Cheickna Cisse, PhD
    Assistant Professor at University of Sciences Techniques and Technologies (USTTB)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Seydou Doumbia, MD, PhD
    Seydou Doumbia, MD, PhD
    Dean and Director
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Segun Fatumo, PhD
    Segun Fatumo, PhD
    Assistant Professor
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Christian T. Happi, PhD
    Christian T. Happi, PhD
    Professor of Molecular Biology and Genomics; Director, African Centre of Excellence for Genomics of Infectious Diseases
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Moses Joloba
    Moses Joloba
    Makarere University College of Health Sciences Kampala, Uganda
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Guillaume Lettre, PhD
    Guillaume Lettre, PhD
    Professor of Medicine
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dan Masiga, PhD
    Dan Masiga, PhD
    Theme Leader
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Enock Matovu, BSc, MSc, PhD
    Enock Matovu, BSc, MSc, PhD
    Associate Professor
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Elizabeth Mayne, MBBCH, MMED FCPATH
    Elizabeth Mayne, MBBCH, MMED FCPATH
    Head of Department, University of Witwatersrand/NHLS
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Collins Misita Morang'a, Msc
    Collins Misita Morang'a, Msc
    PhD Research Fellow, WACCBIP, University of Ghana
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Nicola Mulder, PhD
    Nicola Mulder, PhD
    Professor, H3ABioNet PI
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Leon Mutesa
    Leon Mutesa

  • Erisa Mwaka Sabakaki, PhD
    Erisa Mwaka Sabakaki, PhD
    Senior Lecturer, College of Health Sciences, Makerere University
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Florence Nameere Kivunike, PhD
    Florence Nameere Kivunike, PhD
    Lecturer, School of Computing and Informatics Technologies, Makerere Universit
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Solomon Ofori-Acquah
    Solomon Ofori-Acquah
    University of Ghana, Ghana
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Michele Ramsay, PhD
    Michele Ramsay, PhD
    Professor of Genetics, Director
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Simone Richardson, PhD
    Simone Richardson, PhD
    Postdoctoral fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mahmoud Umar Sani, MBBS, PhD, FWACP
    Mahmoud Umar Sani, MBBS, PhD, FWACP
    Department of Medicine, Bayero University Kano and Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano Niger
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jantina de Vries
    Jantina de Vries

  • Kaitlyn Flynn
    Kaitlyn Flynn
    MSc Student
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jeffrey N Weitzel, MD
    Jeffrey N Weitzel, MD
    Director, Clinical Cancer Genetics, Professor, Director, Cancer Screening & Prevention City of Hope
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Francis S Collins, M.D., Ph.D
    Francis S Collins, M.D., Ph.D
    Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mogomotsi Matshaba
    Mogomotsi Matshaba
    Principal Investigator for Collaborative African Genomics Network (CAfGEN) Group is Assistant Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, Retrovirology, Baylor College of Medicine, and Executive Direct
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jeremy Farrar
    Jeremy Farrar
    Director of the Wellcome Trust
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Aython Meintjies
    Aython Meintjies
    Bioinformatics Software Engineer at CBIO
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Emma Wiener, BSc Hons, MBBCh
    Emma Wiener, BSc Hons, MBBCh
    PhD Student, University of Witwatersand
    BIOGRAPHY
  • John Nkengasong
    John Nkengasong
    Director Africa CDC
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mark J Daly, Ph. D.
    Mark J Daly, Ph. D.
    Chief, Analytic and Translational Genetics Unit, Massachusetts General Hospital Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School Co-Director, Medical Populations Genetics at the Broad Institute of
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Gavin Churchyard, MBBCh, FCP (SA), MMed, PhD
    Gavin Churchyard, MBBCh, FCP (SA), MMed, PhD
  • Heidi Rhem, PhD
    Heidi Rhem, PhD
    Chief Genomics Officer at Massachusetts General Hospital; Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School; Clinical Lab Medical Director at the Broad Institute
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Melissa Gymrek, PhD
    Melissa Gymrek, PhD
    Assistant Professor, University of California San Diego
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Julie Makani
    Julie Makani
    Senior Lecturer and Specialist Physician, Department of Hematology and Blood Transfusion at Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Ibrahim Guindo
    Ibrahim Guindo
    Faculty of medicine and dentistry of Mali
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Henrick Aduda
    Henrick Aduda
    MSc fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Martha Luka
    Martha Luka
    MSc fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Tafadzwa Machipisa
    Tafadzwa Machipisa
    RHDGen Fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Alaine Marsden
    Alaine Marsden
    Masters Student
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Lakshmi Y Sujeeun
    Lakshmi Y Sujeeun
    PhD student
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Abdoulaye Yalcouyé
    Abdoulaye Yalcouyé
    Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, Mali
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Magambo Phillip Kimuda, PhD
    Magambo Phillip Kimuda, PhD
    Postdoctoral fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Olufemi Aromolaran
    Olufemi Aromolaran
    Ph.D. Scholar
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Caleb Kibet, PhD
    Caleb Kibet, PhD
    Mozilla Science Fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Joseph Mulama
    Joseph Mulama
  • Elissa Prichep
    Elissa Prichep
    Project Lead Precision Medicine, World Economic Forum
    BIOGRAPHY
SEP 7 - 10 2020

16th H3Africa Consortium Meeting

We welcome you to the Sixteenth Meeting of the H3Africa Consortium. As you know we were due to meet in Tanzania this September with the African Society of Human Genetics. Unfortunately we have all been forced into detours which has created opportunities for creative engagement.  We hope that our virtual meeting experience will offer as many opportunities to share research findings and build upon them. We will dedicate time to explore research areas beyond the current scope of H3Africa to foster broader sustainable networks. Our early career scientists are always a key feature of H3Africa meetings, there will be several opportunities to engage young scientists during presentation and poster sessions. Our Principal Investigators and Scientists have also responded to the Covid-19 pandemic at various levels and are keen to share their experiences and findings with you. We appreciate your participation during this virtual meeting and look forward to meeting you in-person in time.


Speakers
  • Alash'le G. Abimiku

    Institute of Human Virology Nigeria, Abuja, Nigeria
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Ezekiel Adebiyi, BSc, MSc, PhD

    Professor
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Olumide Ajibola, PhD

    Postdoc, MRC Unit The Gambia at LSHTM
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dominic Amuzu, MPHIL

    PhD Research Fellow, WACCBIP, University of Ghana
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Amayoa Francis Anyaka, BS

    Master Student, Makerere University
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Adeyinka Ashaye

    University of Ibadan College of Medicine, Nigeria
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Kidist Bobosha

  • Nadia Carstens, PhD

    Principal Medical Scientist, Division of Human Genetics, National Health Laboratory Service and the University of the Witwatersrand
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Cheickna Cisse, PhD

    Assistant Professor at University of Sciences Techniques and Technologies (USTTB)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Seydou Doumbia, MD, PhD

    Dean and Director
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Segun Fatumo, PhD

    Assistant Professor
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Christian T. Happi, PhD

    Professor of Molecular Biology and Genomics; Director, African Centre of Excellence for Genomics of Infectious Diseases
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Moses Joloba

    Makarere University College of Health Sciences Kampala, Uganda
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Guillaume Lettre, PhD

    Professor of Medicine
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dan Masiga, PhD

    Theme Leader
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Enock Matovu, BSc, MSc, PhD

    Associate Professor
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Elizabeth Mayne, MBBCH, MMED FCPATH

    Head of Department, University of Witwatersrand/NHLS
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Collins Misita Morang'a, Msc

    PhD Research Fellow, WACCBIP, University of Ghana
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Nicola Mulder, PhD

    Professor, H3ABioNet PI
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Leon Mutesa

  • Erisa Mwaka Sabakaki, PhD

    Senior Lecturer, College of Health Sciences, Makerere University
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Florence Nameere Kivunike, PhD

    Lecturer, School of Computing and Informatics Technologies, Makerere Universit
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Solomon Ofori-Acquah

    University of Ghana, Ghana
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Michele Ramsay, PhD

    Professor of Genetics, Director
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Simone Richardson, PhD

    Postdoctoral fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mahmoud Umar Sani, MBBS, PhD, FWACP

    Department of Medicine, Bayero University Kano and Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano Niger
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jantina de Vries

  • Kaitlyn Flynn

    MSc Student
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jeffrey N Weitzel, MD

    Director, Clinical Cancer Genetics, Professor, Director, Cancer Screening & Prevention City of Hope
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Francis S Collins, M.D., Ph.D

    Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mogomotsi Matshaba

    Principal Investigator for Collaborative African Genomics Network (CAfGEN) Group is Assistant Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, Retrovirology, Baylor College of Medicine, and Executive Direct
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jeremy Farrar

    Director of the Wellcome Trust
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Aython Meintjies

    Bioinformatics Software Engineer at CBIO
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Emma Wiener, BSc Hons, MBBCh

    PhD Student, University of Witwatersand
    BIOGRAPHY
  • John Nkengasong

    Director Africa CDC
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mark J Daly, Ph. D.

    Chief, Analytic and Translational Genetics Unit, Massachusetts General Hospital Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School Co-Director, Medical Populations Genetics at the Broad Institute of
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Gavin Churchyard, MBBCh, FCP (SA), MMed, PhD

  • Heidi Rhem, PhD

    Chief Genomics Officer at Massachusetts General Hospital; Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School; Clinical Lab Medical Director at the Broad Institute
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Melissa Gymrek, PhD

    Assistant Professor, University of California San Diego
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Julie Makani

    Senior Lecturer and Specialist Physician, Department of Hematology and Blood Transfusion at Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Ibrahim Guindo

    Faculty of medicine and dentistry of Mali
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Henrick Aduda

    MSc fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Martha Luka

    MSc fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Tafadzwa Machipisa

    RHDGen Fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Alaine Marsden

    Masters Student
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Lakshmi Y Sujeeun

    PhD student
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Abdoulaye Yalcouyé

    Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, Mali
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Magambo Phillip Kimuda, PhD

    Postdoctoral fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Olufemi Aromolaran

    Ph.D. Scholar
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Caleb Kibet, PhD

    Mozilla Science Fellow
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Joseph Mulama

  • Elissa Prichep

    Project Lead Precision Medicine, World Economic Forum
    BIOGRAPHY

Show Resources
You May Also Like
DEC 07, 2021 3:00 PM EST
DEC 07, 2021 3:00 PM EST
Date: December 7, 2021 Time: 12:30-5:00 p.m. ET #NCATS10...
NOV 09, 2022 6:00 AM PST
NOV 09, 2022 6:00 AM PST
Thirteen years ago Labroots launched a new system of learning for a global scientific audience. Now, the 2022 Clinical Diagnostics and Research Virtual Event will again bring together clinic...
SEP 06, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
SEP 06, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
LabRoots is excited to bring academia and industry, research experts, virologists, microbiologists, healthcare professionals, and leading biomedical scientists under one roof at our 8th Annu...
MAR 23, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
MAR 23, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
LabRoots is pleased to announce the 5th Annual 2021 Cannabis Sciences Virtual Event . LabRoots will host the event on March 23, 2022. The Cannabis Sciences planning committee will be plannin...
APR 19, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
APR 19, 2022 6:00 AM PDT
LabRoots is excited to announce our 10th Annual Genetics Virtual Week held on April 19-21, 2022! Genetics Virtual Week 2022 will offer a multi-day content-rich program combining stellar expe...
JAN 25, 2022 1:00 AM PST
JAN 25, 2022 1:00 AM PST
Europe - 10:00 AM Central European Time United Kingdom - 10:00 AM British Summer Time North America - 10:00 AM Central Standard Time Lab Compliance Connect – The world’s leading...
Agenda

MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 7, 2020

Opening Session: H3Africa Overview & Sickle Cell Disease

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Mogomotsi Matshaba, Francis Collins
Moderator: Ruth Chadwick
Presentation Time:4:30am PDT/7:30am EDT/11:30am GMT/1:30pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Solomon Ofori-Acquah, Mahmoud Sani, Julie Makani
Moderator: Ruth Chadwick
Presentation Time: 6:15am PDT/9:15am EDT/1:15pm GMT/3:15pm CAT

30 MIN BREAK

Session 1: H3Africa Projects Presentations

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Nicola Mulder, Ayton Meintjes
Moderator: Kay Davies
Presentation Time: 7:45am PDT/10:45am EDT/2:45pm GMT/4:45pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Nadia Carstens, Emma Weiner
Moderator: Kay Davies
Presentation Time:8:30am PDT/11:30am EDT/3:30pm GMT/5:30pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Adeyinka Ashaye, Jantina de Vries
Moderator: Kay Davies
Presentation Time:9:30am PDT/12:30pm EDT/4:30pm GMT/6:30pm CAT

Meetings
Principal Investigator Meeting
10:40am PDT/1:40pm EDT/5:40pm GMT/7:40pm CAT

Funder & IEC Meeting
10:40am PDT/1:40pm EDT/5:40pm GMT/7:40pm CAT

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2020

Session 1: SARS-CoV 2 Covid-19 and Panel Discussion

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: John Nkengasong, Mark Daly
Moderator: Catherine Scheepers
Presentation Time:4:30am PDT/7:30am EDT/ 11:30am GMT/1:30pm CAT

Presentation
Presenter: Gavin Churchyard
Moderator: Catherine Scheepers
Presentation Time: 5:30am PDT/8:30am EDT/ 12:30pm GMT/2:30pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Michele Ramsay, Christian Happi, Alash'le Abimiku, Leon Mutesa, Elizabeth Mayne, Simone Richardson
Moderator: Catherine Scheepers
Presentation Time: 6:00am PDT/9:00am EDT/ 1:00pm GMT/3:00pm CAT

Live Panel Discussion: Why Africa needs to be actively engaged in the search for a COVID vaccine Panelists: Lynn Morris, John Nkengasong, Gavin Churchyard, Thomas Kariuki, Paul Ndebele, Morenike Upkong, Mark Daly
Moderator: Barry Bloom
Presentation Time: 8:00am PDT/11:00am EDT/ 3:00pm GMT/5:00pm CAT

30 MIN BREAK

Session 2: H3Africa Projects Presentations

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Kidist Bobosha, Dan Masiga, Caleb Kibit
Moderator: Charmaine Royal
Presentation Time:9:30am PDT/12:30pm EDT/ 4:30pm GMT/6:30pm CAT

Speed Presentations & Live Q&A
Presenters: Kaitlyn Flynn, Ibrahim Guindo, Henrick Kola, Martha Luka, Tafadzwa Machipisa, Alaine Marsden, Joseph Mulama, Lakshmi Sujeen, Abdoulaye Yalcouye, Diabate Oudou
Moderator: Charmaine Royal
Presentation Time:10:30am PDT/1:30pm EDT/ 5:30pm GMT/7:30pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Enock Matovu, Magambo Phillip Kimuda, Ezekiel Adebiyi, Olufemi Aromolaran
Moderator: Charmaine Royal
Presentation Time:11:30am PDT/2:30pm EDT/ 6:30pm GMT/8:30pm CAT

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 9, 2020

Session 1: Guest Speakers & H3Africa Projects Presentations

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenter: Heidi Rehm
Moderator: Philip Awadalla
Presentation Time:5:00am PDT/8:00am EDT/ 12:00pm GMT/2:00pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Moses Joloba & Segun Fatumo
Moderator: Philip Awadalla
Presentation Time:5:30am PDT/8:30am EDT/ 12:30pm GMT/2:30pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Erisa Sabakaki & Francis Anyaka Amayoa
Moderator: Philip Awadalla
Presentation Time: 6:15am PDT/9:15am EDT/ 1:15pm GMT/3:15pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenter: Elissa Prichep
Moderator: Philip Awadalla
Presentation Time:7:00am PDT/10:00am EDT/ 2:00pm GMT/4:00pm CAT

30 MIN BREAK

Meetings
PI & IEC
Meeting Time: 8:00am PDT/11:00am EDT/ 3:00pm GMT/5:00pm CAT

Steering Committee (PI, IEC & Funders)
Meeting Time: 9:00am PDT/12:00pm EDT/4:00pm GMT/6:00pm CAT

THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 10, 2020

Session 1: Guest Speakers & H3Africa Projects Presentations

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenter: Melissa Gymrek
Moderator: Rex Chishol
Presentation Time:5:00am PDT/8:00am EDT/ 12:00pm GMT/2:00pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenter: Florence N. Kivunike
Moderator: Rex Chisholm
Presentation Time:5:45am PDT/8:45am EDT/ 12:45pm GMT/2:45pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Collins Moranga, Olu Ajibola, Dominic Amuzu
Moderator: Rex Chisholm
Presentation Time:6:30am PDT/9:30am EDT/ 1:30pm GMT/3:30pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenters: Seydou Doumbia, Cheickna Cisse
Moderator: Rex Chisholm
Presentation Time:7:30am PDT/10:30am EDT/ 2:30pm GMT/4:30pm CAT

Presentation & Live Q&A
Presenter: Guillaume Lettre
Moderator: Rex Chisholm
Presentation Time:8:15am PDT/11:15am EDT/ 3:15pm GMT/5:15pm CAT

20 MIN BREAK

Meetings
Working Group Report Back
Meeting Time:9:20am PDT/12:20pm EDT/ 4:20pm GMT/6:20pm CAT

30 MIN BREAK

Working Group Report Back & Closing
Meeting Time:
11:30am PDT/2:30pm EDT/ 6:30pm GMT/8:30pm CAT

Discussion & Closing
Meeting Time:
1:00pm PDT/4:00pm EDT/ 8:00pm GMT/10:0pm CAT

 

Help

Loading Comments...
Show Resources