MENU
JUN 22 - 24 2021

Thermo Fisher Scientific 2021 Global IC Symposium

Ion chromatography (IC) is a critical analytical tool on which environmental, food safety, industrial, pharmaceutical, and biopharmaceutical labs rely to provide solutions to some of their most challenging problems. Learn how colleagues and experts are using this powerful separation technique across the IC application spectrum to improve their workflows.

Although each day is convenient for a specific region, you can attend any session on any day and they will be recorded for convenient viewing after the symposium.

Event Highlights:

Throughout the symposium, you can attend the virtual exhibit and take advantage of opportunities to network with other attendees and with Thermo Fisher Scientific.

  • June 22: Ideal for Asia Pacific, Australia, and New Zealand. Begin with the plenary lecture “RFIC – History and State of the Art” then join presentations of interest in our two concurrent tracks. Participate in our workshop on IC troubleshooting for useful tips on improving your ion chromatography.
     
  • June 23: Ideal for Europe, Middle East, Africa, India. The day begins with our plenary lecture titled “The Present and Future of IC Column Stationary Phases.” Afterwards, we are offering nine presentations in three different application sessions. The event ends with a workshop focused on IC maintenance tips and tricks.
     
  • June 24: Ideal for the Americas. Our plenary discusses the application of IC to art and architecture. Nine presentations across three focus areas are being offered followed by a workshop on the selection and proper use of suppressors.

Speakers
  • Manali Aggrawal

    Senior Applications Chemist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dino Alfano

    Vice President and General Manager Ion Chromatography and Sample Preparation, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Terri Christison

    Staff Product Applications Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Fiona Cuskin

    University of Newcastle
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Agnes Elek

    Principal Nutrition Chemist, i2Fast
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Catherine Frankis

    Senior Scientist II, RSSL
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Vasile Furdui

    Ontario Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Henrik Hecht

    A1 Envirosciences
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Andrew Hill-Wilson

    Field Service Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jingli Hu

    Sr. Applications Chemist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Daniel Kutscher

    Product Marketing Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dr. Yan Liu

    Director of Chemistry R&D, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Heather L. Lord

    Bureau Veritas
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mari-Vorgan Louyer

    EHESP LERES
    BIOGRAPHY
  • John Madden

    Staff Scientist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Wai-Chi Man

    Product Marketing Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Rezwan Miah

    Jacobs
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Terry Munson

    Foresite, Inc.
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Brett Paull

    Associate Dean (Research), University of Tasmania
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Chris Pohl

    Vice President, Chromatography Chemistry, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Lukasz Rajski

    University of Almeria
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Katie Reid

    Senior Scientist I, RSSL
    BIOGRAPHY
  • George Renney

    Application Support Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jeffrey Rohrer

    Director of Applications Development, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Alex Semyonov

    Product Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Daniel Talbot

    Instrument Support Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Tian Tian

    Staff Scientist Research and Development, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Paul Voelker

    Product Marketing Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dr. Joachim Weiss

    Technical Director, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY

Show Resources
You May Also Like
OCT 19, 2022 5:30 AM PDT
C.E. CREDITS
OCT 19, 2022 5:30 AM PDT
Labroots announces the 2022 Coronavirus Virtual Event Series. A novel coronavirus emerged in China in 2019; it has since been dubbed COVID-19....
NOV 09, 2022 6:00 AM PST
NOV 09, 2022 6:00 AM PST
Labroots is pleased to host the annual 2022 Clinical Diagnostics and Research virtual event to be held on November 9th, 2022. Registration is open now....
APR 20, 2023 6:00 AM PDT
APR 20, 2023 6:00 AM PDT
Labroots is pleased to host the 6th 2023 Cannabis Sciences Virtual Event. Labroots will host the event on April 20 2023, filled with featured speakers....
NOV 09, 2023 6:00 AM PST
NOV 09, 2023 6:00 AM PST
Labroots is pleased to announce the 2023 Clinical Diagnostics and Research Virtual Event to be held on November 9th, 2023 packed with featured speakers....
SEP 05, 2023 6:00 AM PDT
SEP 05, 2023 6:00 AM PDT
Labroots to host the Microbiology Virtual Week on September 5-7, 2023. Offering discussions on the global development of treatment for Infectious Diseases....
MAY 16, 2023 6:00 AM PDT
MAY 16, 2023 6:00 AM PDT
Labroots is excited to announce our 11th Genetics Virtual Week held on May 16-18, 2023! Genetics Virtual Week will offer a multi-day content-rich program....

Agenda

  • Symposium Opening
    10:30 am IST, 1:00 pm SGT, 3:00 pm AEST

    Symposium Opening

    Dino Alfano
    Vice President and General Manager Ion Chromatography and Sample Preparation, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Plenary - Topic: RFIC, History and State of the Art
    10:40 AM IST, 1:10 PM SGT, 3:10 PM AEST

    Plenary - Topic: RFIC, History and State of the Art

    Dr. Yan Liu
    Director of Chemistry R&D, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • The Power of Ion Chromatography Coupled with Mass Spectrometry: Industrial and Environmental Applications
    11:30 AM IST, 2:00 PM SGT, 4:00 PM AEST

    The Power of Ion Chromatography Coupled with Mass Spectrometry: Industrial and Environmental Applications

    Brett Paull
    Associate Dean (Research), University of Tasmania
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Breaking the Sugar Code with Advances in IC-MS: For Improved Separation and Analysis of Carbohydrates
    11:30 AM IST, 2:00 PM SGT, 4:00 PM AEST

    Breaking the Sugar Code with Advances in IC-MS: For Improved Separation and Analysis of Carbohydrates

    Tian Tian
    Staff Scientist Research and Development, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Fast Validated Direct Injection Determination of HAAs in Drinking Water with IC-MS/MS by EPA 557
    11:55 AM IST, 2:25 PM SGT, 4:25 PM AEST

    Fast Validated Direct Injection Determination of HAAs in Drinking Water with IC-MS/MS by EPA 557

    Paul Voelker
    Product Marketing Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • A New, Integrated, Sample-to-Result Analytical Workflow for the Sensitive and Reliable Analysis of Polar Anionic Pesticides and Metabolites
    11:55 AM IST, 2:25 PM SGT, 4:25 PM AEST

    A New, Integrated, Sample-to-Result Analytical Workflow for the Sensitive and Reliable Analysis of Polar Anionic Pesticides and Metabolites

    Alex Semyonov
    Product Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Hydrogen Peroxide Analysis by Ion Chromatography
    12:20 PM IST, 2:50 PM SGT, 4:50 PM AEST

    Hydrogen Peroxide Analysis by Ion Chromatography

    Wai-Chi Man
    Product Marketing Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Sugars in Food by Ion Chromatography.
    12:20 PM IST, 2:50 PM SGT, 4:50 PM AEST

    Sugars in Food by Ion Chromatography.

    Agnes Elek
    Principal Nutrition Chemist, i2Fast
    BIOGRAPHY
  • IC Workshop: Troubleshooting Your Ion Chromatogram
    12:45 PM IST, 3:15 PM SGT, 5:15 PM AEST

    IC Workshop: Troubleshooting Your Ion Chromatogram

    Chris Pohl
    Vice President, Chromatography Chemistry, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Symposium Opening
    10:00 AM BST, 11:00 AM CEST

    Symposium Opening

    Dino Alfano
    Vice President and General Manager Ion Chromatography and Sample Preparation, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Plenary - Topic: Past and Future of Column Stationary Phases
    10:10 AM BST, 11:10 AM, CEST

    Plenary - Topic: Past and Future of Column Stationary Phases

    Chris Pohl
    Vice President, Chromatography Chemistry, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • IC-MS Approaches for Environmental Contaminants
    1:00 PM BST, 2:00 PM CEST

    IC-MS Approaches for Environmental Contaminants

    George Renney
    Application Support Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Anion Analysis in Power Generation
    1:00 PM BST, 2:00 PM CEST

    Anion Analysis in Power Generation

    Rezwan Miah
  • Studying Carbohydrate Active Enzymes (CAZymes) using HPAEC-PAD
    1:00 PM BST, 2:00 PM CEST

    Studying Carbohydrate Active Enzymes (CAZymes) using HPAEC-PAD

    Fiona Cuskin
    University of Newcastle
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Analysis of Anionic Pesticides Using High Performance Ion Chromatography
    1:25 PM BST, 2:25 PM CEST

    Analysis of Anionic Pesticides Using High Performance Ion Chromatography

    Lukasz Rajski
    University of Almeria
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Using Combustion-Ion Chromatography (c-IC) in Industrial Applications for Automated Direct Measurement of F, Cl, Br, I and S in Solids, Liquids and Gases
    1:25 PM BST, 2:25 PM CEST

    Using Combustion-Ion Chromatography (c-IC) in Industrial Applications for Automated Direct Measurement of F, Cl, Br, I and S in Solids, Liquids and Gases

    Henrik Hecht
    A1 Envirosciences
    BIOGRAPHY
  • 1:25 PM BST, 2:25 PM CEST

    The Amino Acid Analyser: Use and Application in Pharmaceutical Testing

    Katie Reid, Catherine Frankis
    Katie Reid
    Senior Scientist I, RSSL
    BIOGRAPHY
    Catherine Frankis
    Senior Scientist II, RSSL
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Analysis of Haloacetic Acids in Drinking Water and Swimming Pools by IC-MS: Method Development and Application in Britanny
    1:50 PM BST, 2:50 PM CEST

    Analysis of Haloacetic Acids in Drinking Water and Swimming Pools by IC-MS: Method Development and Application in Britanny

    Mari-Vorgan Louyer
    EHESP LERES
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Trace Identification and Contaminant Analysis in Lithium Ion Batteries using Ion Chromatography, R&D and Raw Material & QA Testing
    1:50 PM BST, 2:50 PM CEST

    Trace Identification and Contaminant Analysis in Lithium Ion Batteries using Ion Chromatography, R&D and Raw Material & QA Testing

    Paul Voelker
    Product Marketing Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Determination of Dimethylamine and Nitrite in Pharmaceuticals by Ion Chromatography to Assess the Likelihood of Nitrosamine Formation
    1:50 PM BST, 2:50 PM CEST

    Determination of Dimethylamine and Nitrite in Pharmaceuticals by Ion Chromatography to Assess the Likelihood of Nitrosamine Formation

    Jingli Hu
    Sr. Applications Chemist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • 2:15 PM BST, 3:15 PM CEST

    IC Workshop: Maintenance Tips and Tricks to Maximize IC ROI and Uptime

    Andrew Hill-Wilson, Daniel Talbot
    Andrew Hill-Wilson
    Field Service Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
    Daniel Talbot
    Instrument Support Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Symposium Opening
    8:00 AM PDT, 11:00 AM EDT

    Symposium Opening

    Dino Alfano
    Vice President and General Manager Ion Chromatography and Sample Preparation, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Plenary - Topic: The Application of Ion Chromatography to Art and Architecture - Lessons for All Ion Chromatographers
    8:10 AM PDT, 11:10 AM EDT

    Plenary - Topic: The Application of Ion Chromatography to Art and Architecture - Lessons for All Ion Chromatographers

    Jeffrey Rohrer
    Director of Applications Development, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Trace Analysis of Perchlorate by Ion Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry
    9:30 AM PDT, 12:30 PM EDT

    Trace Analysis of Perchlorate by Ion Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry

    Vasile Furdui
    Ontario Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Alkanolamine Determinations in Neutralizing Amines Samples with Improved Separation Technology
    9:30AM PDT, 12:30 PM EDT

    Alkanolamine Determinations in Neutralizing Amines Samples with Improved Separation Technology

    Terri Christison
    Staff Product Applications Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Cationic Polar Pesticides in Food and Beverage Matrices by IC-MS/MS
    9:30 AM PDT, 12:30 PM EDT

    Cationic Polar Pesticides in Food and Beverage Matrices by IC-MS/MS

    John Madden
    Staff Scientist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Trace Analysis of Hexavalent Chromium by Ion Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry
    9:55 AM PDT, 12:55 PM EDT

    Trace Analysis of Hexavalent Chromium by Ion Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry

    Vasile Furdui
    Ontario Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Printed Circuit Board Failure Analysis - Using Ion Chromatography and Ion Chromatography Mass Spectrometry
    9:55 AM PDT, 12:55 PM EDT

    Printed Circuit Board Failure Analysis - Using Ion Chromatography and Ion Chromatography Mass Spectrometry

    Terry Munson
    Foresite, Inc.
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Determination of Low- and Non-caloric Sweeteners in Food and Beverages by HPAE-PAD
    9:55 AM PDT, 12:55 PM EDT

    Determination of Low- and Non-caloric Sweeteners in Food and Beverages by HPAE-PAD

    Manali Aggrawal
    Senior Applications Chemist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substance Dark Matter: Role of Total Organofluorine Analysis
    10:20 AM PDT, 1:20 PM EDT

    Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substance Dark Matter: Role of Total Organofluorine Analysis

    Heather L. Lord
    Bureau Veritas
    BIOGRAPHY
  • Printed Circuit Board Failure Analysis - Using Ion Chromatography and Ion Chromatography Mass Spectrometry (con't)
    10:20 AM PDT, 1:20 PM EDT

    Printed Circuit Board Failure Analysis - Using Ion Chromatography and Ion Chromatography Mass Spectrometry (con't)

    Terry Munson
    Foresite, Inc.
    BIOGRAPHY
  • IC-ICP-MS for Elemental Speciation - Combining the Best of Two Worlds
    10:20 AM PDT, 1:20 PM EDT

    IC-ICP-MS for Elemental Speciation - Combining the Best of Two Worlds

    Daniel Kutscher
    Product Marketing Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY
  • IC Workshop: Suppressor Selection and Use
    10:45 AM PDT, 1:45 PM EDT

    IC Workshop: Suppressor Selection and Use

    Dr. Joachim Weiss
    Technical Director, Thermo Fisher Scientific
    BIOGRAPHY

Speakers


  • Manali Aggrawal
    Manali Aggrawal

    Senior Applications Chemist, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dino Alfano
    Dino Alfano

    Vice President and General Manager Ion Chromatography and Sample Preparation, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Terri Christison
    Terri Christison

    Staff Product Applications Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Fiona Cuskin
    Fiona Cuskin

    University of Newcastle

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Agnes Elek
    Agnes Elek

    Principal Nutrition Chemist, i2Fast

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Catherine Frankis
    Catherine Frankis

    Senior Scientist II, RSSL

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Vasile Furdui
    Vasile Furdui

    Ontario Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Henrik Hecht
    Henrik Hecht

    A1 Envirosciences

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Andrew Hill-Wilson
    Andrew Hill-Wilson

    Field Service Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jingli Hu
    Jingli Hu

    Sr. Applications Chemist, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Daniel Kutscher
    Daniel Kutscher

    Product Marketing Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dr. Yan Liu
    Dr. Yan Liu

    Director of Chemistry R&D, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Heather L. Lord
    Heather L. Lord

    Bureau Veritas

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Mari-Vorgan Louyer
    Mari-Vorgan Louyer

    EHESP LERES

    BIOGRAPHY
  • John Madden
    John Madden

    Staff Scientist, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Wai-Chi Man
    Wai-Chi Man

    Product Marketing Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Rezwan Miah
    Rezwan Miah

    Jacobs

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Terry Munson
    Terry Munson

    Foresite, Inc.

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Brett Paull
    Brett Paull

    Associate Dean (Research), University of Tasmania

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Chris Pohl
    Chris Pohl

    Vice President, Chromatography Chemistry, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Lukasz Rajski
    Lukasz Rajski

    University of Almeria

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Katie Reid
    Katie Reid

    Senior Scientist I, RSSL

    BIOGRAPHY
  • George Renney
    George Renney

    Application Support Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Jeffrey Rohrer
    Jeffrey Rohrer

    Director of Applications Development, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Alex Semyonov
    Alex Semyonov

    Product Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Daniel Talbot
    Daniel Talbot

    Instrument Support Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Tian Tian
    Tian Tian

    Staff Scientist Research and Development, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Paul Voelker
    Paul Voelker

    Product Marketing Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
  • Dr. Joachim Weiss
    Dr. Joachim Weiss

    Technical Director, Thermo Fisher Scientific

    BIOGRAPHY
Help

Loading Comments...
Show Resources